The Final Weekend

Yes- it is indeed Monday morning. And no- we can’t all just crawl back into bed.

There’s one thing that I can be certain of and that is that life goes on. So let’s try and make the most of today, shall we.

This past weekend was the final weekend I had with Will before Christmas. Now he’s back in NYC and I shall see him toward the end of December. Because I’m trying to keep this week wicked positive, instead of dwelling on this fact, I’m going to point out that it was also the final weekend before I go HOME TO MASSACHUSETTS (four days! eep!)

The weekend was spent doing fun things with Will, finishing up Christmas shipping shenanigans, and prepping for this final week in the District before some quality Massachusetts lovin.

Friday night Will and I went to a drive through light display at the Merriweather Post Pavillion grounds (a sick outdoor concert venue in Maryland). It was kind of on the lame side… but it was still cool to see lots of lights! Plus, the fee to drive through went to charity so at least we were helping people out.

2012-12-14 21.06.25

Sorry for the HORRIBLE pictures- it’s hard to take pics of Christmas lights in a moving vehicle. They tell drivers to go really slow and to really pay attention driving through but I wonder how many fender benders happen at this thing every year…

2012-12-14 21.11.36

Saturday morning was greeted with roasted strawberry and banana oatmeal. Not a very Christmas-y breakfast, but a sunny and delicious one that’s for sure.

2012-12-15 08.38.12

And I had my first cup of tea in the adorable cup that I got from Nick on Friday when we swapped Christmas gifts.

2012-12-15 09.38.00

Santa is the keeper of my tea. Sometimes I say ho ho ho in a deep voice in my head out loud when I take a tea bag out. I wish I was kidding.

2012-12-15 09.40.43

Later that day, I decided to take advantage of a gift certificate for a deep tissue massage that Will got for me for our anniversary back in November. After this past week- I needed it.  I had no idea what to expect because I’ve never had a professional massage before.

I booked an appointment at noon with Simon and hoped for the best. Well. I certainly wasn’t expecting an elderly man to be the Simon that was going to massage me that’s for sure. But by the time I met him and was at the place- I just had to roll with it. Lucky for me, he knew what he was doing and I just melted into the massage table basically. Success.

2012-12-15 12.33.08

When I left the massage place, I was stunned by how beautiful the weather was! So when I got home, after some lunch, Will and I decided to go for a walk to soak in the sun and mild temps. We didn’t plan out where we were going to go- at first we just walked around our neighborhood. But then we got closer to Dupont, and the North end of P Street, and then Georgetown, and then before we knew it we were at the National Cathedral.

cathedral

From here we ended up getting back home through some back roads. We always end up seeing SO much of the city when we go on walks. Walking around DC is definitely one of our favorite past times. You learn the city so well. You also get your fitness on. Yes, workouts include walking- especially when your walks are over 6 miles up and down some righteous hill-age. Needless to say, it felt good to sit down when we got back home.

Saturday night Will and I headed up to Silver Spring to see a screening of It’s a Wonderful Life at the AFI theater. Will had NEVER seen the movie before (I know). I was excited for him to finally see it and more importantly- to watch the movie with him!

And yes- we had dinner at the Panera you see there in the picture next to the movie theater. I love Panera. Not only is everything they make mouth wateringly good, but they are very upfront about what’s in their food and its easy to make good choices there. Making a healthy minded decision at Panera still gets you a meal filled with comfort and soul warming goodness (my meal from Friday: a cup of broccoli and cheddar soup, a roasted turkey and avocado blt, and an apple). And if you didn’t know, you can go on their website and obtain all the nutritional information for their food and build your meals.;

Seeing It’s a Wonderful Life that night was a good reminder of what is really important in life and especially around this time of year. It’s chock full of valuable life lessons. There’s even a book called “52 Little Lessons from It’s a Wonderful Life.” In all the stress and madness, it’s important keep in mind how important the little random acts of kindness in your day are. Having a positive attitude when dealing with strangers and making the effort to help out those in need around you when you can adds up to a lot.

I know I always feel like a small fish in a big pond- but this movie reminds me that even the little guys matter and that the good things I do have some sort of significance in the world.

I owe everything to George Bailey.

Sunday morning was welcomed with egg nog pancakes made from a recipe by Tina of Carrots N Cake. Mine came out a little on the darker side… I had some flipping problems.

2012-12-16 09.49.03

All that matters is how they taste, right? And they tasted good. So there.

2012-12-16 09.49.13

I didn’t know what to top them with… so I took everything out of the fridge that I thought might work. Sweet potato butter? Blueberry jam? Cranberry jam? Butter? 

2012-12-16 09.55.09

I ended up doing ricotta cheese, maple syrup, and a shake of nutmeg. Yum. Will and I’s breakfast was accompanied by tea/coffee and watching the SNL we were too tired to stay up for. Gotta love SNL Christmas specials. Although, this years hosted by Martin Short did not top last years hosted by Jimmy Fallon (my love).

2012-12-16 09.56.41

I just wanted to be wicked lazy on Sunday. While I did a lot of laying around and not leaving the apartment, I did make sure I made time for the final vegetable and food prep before going home extravaganza. This past week will definitely fly by and I want to make the most of it. This translates into me making sure I have healthy grab and go snacks and meals to make for the week.

Veggie snack packs for the win.

2012-12-16 11.34.23

Chopped veggies (mushrooms, peppers, onions, zucchini, cucumber, eggplant, sweet potato… the works) and portioned out, cooked chicken.

2012-12-16 11.47.43

With all the fresh food in my apartment ready to go for the week, it made perfect sense to go out to dinner 😉 Will and I wanted to do something relatively special for dinner for our Christmas meal so OBVIOUSLY we chose pizza. I love pizza. He loves pizza. We love pizza. We love the restaurant District of Pi in Penn Quarter.

Italian/Pizza places get bonus points from me if they have the stereotypical red and white checker patterened napkins or table clothes.

2012-12-16 18.25.18

We shared a deep dish pizza with chicken, red onions, spinach, and red peppers.

2012-12-16 18.48.48

This is how we do date night. Iif you look closely, you’ll see I was reppin the Patriots- what a nice comeback last night by the way. Might have resulted in a loss, but the comeback was at least nice! It’s okay Tom Brady, at least there’s a teddy bear named after you out there.

2012-12-16 18.48.35

And OBVIOUSLY we made sure we were home for The Next Iron Chef. Food Network how we love you. (SPOILER ALERT) We were pumped to see our girl Alex Guarnaschelli manage to survive the elimination round. She’s totally Iron Chef material. You go, girl.

So you may be surprised at the lack of Christmas activities Will and I managed to squeeze in this weekend with how focused on holiday cheer I’ve been lately. Loyal followers might be asking, but what about your jar of Christmas activities! Truth be told, after the tragedy that took place in CT on Friday and feeling melancholy knowing we didn’t have much time together AND the stress of our to do lists, Will and I just simply tried to be happy and do things together. We didn’t do anything crazy special, but we did spend quality time together and made sure to make each other feel appreciated and loved. That’s all that really mattered this weekend.

If you’re a “Mr. Potter of It’s a Wonderful Life type,” you might say all that is just sentimental hogwash! Eh, so be it. I need sentimental hogwash in my life. We all do.

Anyways. This time next week it will be Christmas and I will be home. Only a few days to go before I pack my bags and get to be with my family. Damn do I miss them. But like I said, I’m going to try and appreciate this week and all the good things it has the potential to bring. Tonight? Body Pump class and dinner with my two best friends, Nick and Jess.

Focus on the positive little things, take one day at a time, and appreciate your loved ones xoxo

One thought on “The Final Weekend

  1. Pingback: Alternative Pizza Crusts | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

