Mind the Gap

Sometimes I can predict my weekly posts based on whats scheduled in my google calendar and what meals I plan on making. I could not have predicted this post if I tried.

The Short Story: I am currently phone less. Which also means I am picture-less for my blog (sorry everyone) I dropped my phone down the elevator shaft of my apartment building and it did not survive the nine story fall.

Yeah- I know what you’re thinking. How the hell did you do that?! I am dumb.

The Long Story: I had a long day and I was not in a good mood when I got home from work. I was, however, excited because I was trying SPIN CLASS for the first time finally that night. Also when I got home, the guy at the front desk told me I had a package.

I hadn’t ordered anything recently (surprisingly) so I was caught off guard. And the box was from crate and barrel…whaaaa? I definitely didn’t get anything from there.

I hope you all enjoy my use of google images in all posts until I get a new phone. I decided funny/random internet pictures were better than no pictures. You should all know that me not being able to take blog pictures was one of the first things that flashed through my mind when I realized I had lost my phone.

When I got in my apartment I opened the package and there was a little envelope inside. It read: “Happy Thanksgiving Alli! Love, Mema and Poppa” (my grandparents).

What trickery were these two up to?! What did they get me?!

Say hello to my new vegetable steamer!

My grandmother is an avid reader of my blog (hi Mema!) and I knew immediately that she had seen my posts about my weird steaming methods due to lack of kitchen equipment and took it upon herself to help me out. I was so surprised, taken aback, happy, and just all around appreciative.

I took some goofy pictures with the steamer (which maybe you’ll see someday) and then realized I had to leave to get to spin on time.

Here is when things got out of control.

I excitedly/happily got in the elevator- phone in hand with full intentions to call my grandparents to say thank you on my walk to the gym. As the elevator door was closing, it bumped my elbow a tiny bit and the phone slipped through my glove covered fingers.

I initially was upset that I dropped in it general and then I saw the case pop off, the phone slide through the gap between my elevator floor and the apartment hallway floor and heard it bang/clang down the elevator shaft

what.

That was my initial reaction. Wait. Did that really just happen. No. That couldn’t have happened. How. No. What? Really? Holy shit. What? But actually- huh?

This is the only picture I could find related to my dilemma. Dear Pepsi Light, I found your ad to be humorous. My situation, however, not so humorous.

I stumbled out of the elevator and didn’t really know what to do. I went to the front desk and awkwardly told the guy what happened. Lucky for me the elevator maintenance man was in the building and he retrieved my sad little phone for me.

He handed it to me in pieces. Screen cracked, battery warped, exterior shell bent out of shape. I didn’t cry. I thought I would. I think I was so overwhelmed and in shock that I just laughed. I didn’t know how to handle the situation at all.

So what did I do? Threw the phone pieces into my bag and ran to spin.

I could have sat in my apartment and been all depressing (I was tempted) but I decided that sweating out my stress and tension was a much better use of my time. Plus, I had had a bad day and REFUSED to let little annoyances prevent me from doing the one thing I had wanted to do all day. So yes. I went to spin.

Spin had been colored in my mind by that scene in the movie Fever Pitch where Lindsey (Drew Barrymore) and her friends are at spin and one of them yells at the instructor :”Die you Nazi Spin Bitch!” (Sorry for the harsh language). Needless to say I was nervous.

I showed up like RIGHT on time and had someone next to me quickly show me what to do. She explained there are three positions you take on the bike aptly shouted out as “1, 2, or 3,” and showed me how to use the resistance knob on the bike.

I didn’t realize there was so much background knowledge I’d need to know. I felt like a n00b but was still totally into it. I did my best to catch up.

I used the picture I did above because the room looked like a less cool/hip version of that one. It was dark and the walls were a deep purple color. There was definitely a purple/blue/neon glow throughout the space.

The instructor was motivational and not obnoxious at all. Plus, the girl next to me continued to offer me little snippets of advice as we were spinning when she saw I needed some help (I love my gym and the people who go there).

My favorite part? THE MUSIC. So awesome. The class started with Beyonce’s “Get Me Bodied.” Need I say more?

Class didn’t fly by- it definitely felt like a solid hour. My legs were tiredddd. But I like the fact that spin is a low impact workout and I wasn’t necessarily sore afterwards (my knees usually are sore after days of running). Even today I’m not sore. I was a sweaty mess when I left the class and I felt good.

I officially tried a new exercise- something I want to do every month as part of my 2012 Bucket List. I can see how spin could get addicting… maybe I’ll go again next week!

I almost forgot about the broken phone in my bag… almost. Sigh. I still didn’t know how to handle the situation.

I just went home. Made dinner. Used the steamer for the first time with some cauliflower 🙂

I made a cup of warm soy egg nog and low cal hot chocolate (it was heavenly) and tried to figure out what to do. I decided to just go in person to a store on Friday (my day off) and present the situation to them- see what they say- go from there.

In the meantime. I am phone-less.

It’s weird to get used to just because I’m so accustomed to using my phone a lot but I kind of like the freedom of not feeling tied to it. I only got this smart phone (my first one ever) over the summer and before that just had a very simple phone. I’ve quickly remembered how to live life without the luxury of a fancy phone. It’s really not that bad- slightly inconvenient- but it’s kind of peaceful. I’ve never been a big lover of the increasing importance/stress on technology and enjoy the simple things.

What I am really upset about is the money aspect of this whole thing. I was already worried about money with student loan payments and the holidays approaching and now this mess.

I’m a firm believer in everything happens for a reason. I’m not sure what God’s reason is for this one… but I’m sure it’ll come to me from somewhere.

I’m focusing on the positives and not dwelling on this mishap.

Remember to mind the gap, readers xoxo

17 thoughts on “Mind the Gap

  1. First off, your grandma sounds adorable – my grandma did the same thing when I posted on my blog about how I exploded a smoothie in my blender and so she sent me an idiot-proof Magic Bullet with the lid on the bottom so I couldn’t screw it up. Second, way to keep things positive despite a really crappy day! I’m so with you about everything happening for a reason, just keep the faith!

  2. Is it weird that dropping my phone down an elevator is actually something I think about/worry about often?? That and dropping it down the sewer. So sorry for your loss 😦 keep that chin up!

  3. That is one of my worst fears; keys or phone falling down my elevator gap. (gap is wide.) kudos to u for not letting this frustrating situation stop you from attending spin class. Nothing like a little Beyonce to cheer you up.

  4. As you already know I’m proud of you for handling this unfortunate situation with positive energy, humor and grace. I’ll e-mail you later. Spin class sounds like it was a good, but fun workout! Keep up the great work! I’m off to physical therapy….Love you!

  5. Pingback: Namaste, Penn Quarter | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Be Kind to Yourself | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: Elevator Heaven W Control

  8. Pingback: One Hundred | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  9. Pingback: First Weekend Eats | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  10. Pingback: Bittersweet | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  11. Pingback: Friday Forecast | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

