Orange You Glad

I realized the other day how many of my meals revolve around orange foods. This post contains a sweet potato recipe, a butternut squash recipe, AND a pumpkin recipe.

Get ready to get your orange on with me.

But wait. Before the recipes… keeping up with my November Plank Challenge, I did my Monday time trial today. I really wanted to beat my time from Friday. I beat Friday’s time by 30 seconds wahoo! I was shaking by the end of this one.

Also- I had full plans on taking spin for the first time today but then waited too long register and the class was full! Such a bummer. I have been letting my 2012 Bucket List down by not trying a new form of exercise in a while… rawr.

Next Monday. It’s happening. Mark my words.

But it may have been a sign from up above because I feel exhausted today. Like- ridiculously tired. I’m not even sure why… I thought I slept well last night? Who knows. I could have just gone to the gym and done my own thang but today is one of those days where thinking about a treadmill makes me want to cry. Tomorrow I’ll be sure to try extra hard in bootcamp class 😉

Okay, back to the orange recipes:

1) Sweet Potato Breakfast Pudding

This breakfast was created by Tina and I followed her recipe. I happened to have all the ingredients on hand. Score! I knew that leftover sweet potato would come in handy. Instead of regular milk or soy milk though I used my egg nog soy milk! MMMMMM!

And it’s so easy! You really just combine all these ingredients together in a bowl (follow Tina’s recipe and measurements) and then bake it for twenty minutes. It’ll look like a big bowl of fall tastiness. I decided last minute not to use the honey– I thought it tasted sweet enough and didn’t want the extra sugar. Feel free to do the same of course OR totally go for that honey.

Bake this mixture in an oven safe dish and you shall have bread pudding. I topped mine with cinnamon swirled peanut butter and raisins.

I think I was in love with this breakfast. Yep. I was in love.

2) Baked Butternut Steak Fries

I stole this idea/recipe from Jenn of Peas and Crayons and I’m so happy I did. I had been looking for something fun to do with my butternut squash this week.

I cut my butternut squash as she suggested and only used the tubular part. I saved the rounded end and scooped out the pulp/seeds… I gotta think of some way to stuff and cook this bad boy later in the week. Possibly with some sausage, onion, and cheese? Hmmm…

But anyway, I then peeled the squash and cut it into 4 inch long steak fries.

I tossed the fries with 1/2 tsp. of olive oil, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper. I then baked them for fifteen minutes at 450 degrees on one side AND then flipped them and cooked them for ten minutes on the other side.

THEN I added a little bit of cheddar cheese and cooked for about 3 more minutes.

I was a big fan of this recipe. I served these with some barbecue chicken and green beans. The barbecue sauce was perfect to dip the cheesy butternut squash fries into.

Solid dinner. 

3) Pumpkin Black Bean Taco Bowl

This one is also from Jenn of Peas and Crayons! She gets an A+ this week in my book for giving me these great recipes.

So basically she gave me the idea of combining black beans and pumpkin. Usually I use pumpkin in sweet things so I was intrigued to take it down a savory path.

She uses the mixture of beans and pumpkin in tacos. I think it would taste really good in quesadillas. Because I lacked taco shells or tortillas and didn’t want to spend money- I worked with what I had on hand and put it over a salad. Not ideal- but again, just what I had on hand.

I altered her recipe and for Will and I’s dinner I mixed 1 cup of pumpkin, 1 cup of refried pinto beans, 1/4 cup chopped onion, 2 tbsp. of salsa, 1 tsp. cayenne pepper, 2 tsp fiesta lime seasoning, 1/2 tsp. cumin,  and 1/4 tsp. salt.

I then heated this in the microwave for about three minutes (loved that this was an option for this recipe! quick and easy!)

I defrosted some frozen corn and cooked that with 1 cup of drained black beans to add to my pumpkin black bean taco bowl.

I was skeptical but readers, take note, pumpkin tastes amazing in mexican food. The pictures aren’t too appetizing but once I thoroughly mixed the greens with the bean/pumpkin mixture and added some cheese- MAGIC.

It was warm, spicy, and full of so many surprising flavors. I am no longer in the “pumpkin has to be sweet” club (if that existed).

CHEETOS used to be my number one go to orange food… it’s amazing how that has changed. 

Here’s to making healthy swaps and healthy choices xoxo

One thought on “Orange You Glad

  1. Pingback: Election Day 2012 | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

