Hello Hurricane

Sandy, what are you so angry about?! This storm is definitely a crazy one. Today has been such a weird day- being stuck inside to watch the hurricane wreak havoc. Definitely a Monday different from the ordinary.

For the first half of today, it was really just raining and nothing too exciting was happening outside. It felt like a Sunday Part II or something. Bonus day!

Today after work I was going to try spinning for the first time. I was signed up for the class and everything. But when I saw that it was cancelled (and you know, there was a hurricane and work was not happening either) I had to deal with the fact that Sandy wanted me to do something else. As lame as it is most of the time, I am thankful for the gym in my apartment building on days like today.

I decided to do a workout that was published online by Health magazine called: “Get In and Out of the Gym in 60 Minutes.” It was written by Tina Haupert, author of the blog Carrots N Cake. I improvised due to a lack of equipment and just what I was feeling today.

Here was my Sandy Sweat-athon:

  • 10 min. jog on the treadmill
  • Then for each of the five minute segments below, I did as many rounds of those two exercises as possible. So I did the two exercise sets non-stop for 5 minutes.
  • 5 min. 10 jumping jacks + 10 burpees
  • 5 min. 10 lateral raises + 10 squats with free weights
  • 5 min. 10 push-ups + 20 sit-ups 
  • 5 min. 10 squats with free weights + 20 alternating lunges
  • 5 min. 60 second plank hold + 10 up/down planks
  • 5 min. walk on the treadmill/cool down
  • Stretch

There were a couple other people from the building also working out. We had the Food Network on the gym TV and bonded over Alex Guarnaschelli’s show “Alex’s Day Off.” You may recognize her as one of the judges on Chopped. But it was cool to hangout with some people in the building for a little while! You make new friends when you’re stuck indoors.

Also, some of you may remember, I’m participating in a Plank Challenge where by November 16th I’m hoping to increase my plank time from 1 1/2 minutes to 3 minutes.

Today was a time trial day and I managed to hold my plank for 1 min. 40 sec. Improvement is improvement, right? Now my goal is to beat that on Friday! We shall see… hopefully my workout today helped my core out.

My lunch made me feel like my kitchen was my very own Panera. I made a really good salad and also had my leftover Gingered Pumpkin Soup.

I had some beets to use up in the fridge and because I’m a culinary novice, I googled “spices that taste good with beets.” I saw allspice and basil. That was convincing enough and I used both to season the beets and one of the sausages cut up that I made yesterday. It ended up being such a good call! Hooray for newfound flavor combos!

Beets, spinach, red onion, red and orange bell pepper, and sausage drizzled with a little bit of olive oil:

And yes I had my soup in a mug- it always tastes better that way.

I had full plans to make cookies but the storm made me lazy I guess. I just wasn’t in the mood anymore after lunch. BUT here are the links to two cookie recipes I was deciding between if you are feeling adventurous:

Oatmeal Apple Cookies
42 Calorie Pumpkin Cookies

Just because I didn’t want to bake, however, doesn’t mean my desire for cookies disappeared. Instead I split a sliced apple with Will and ate it with this magical substance:

Uhhhhh ridiculously good. Just try not to eat the whole jar. I’m warning you: you’ll want to.

The rest of the day was spent reading, internet surfing, painting my nails again, researching random things- you know REALLY fascinating stuff. I finally finished reading my Women’s Health magazine. Thought I share with you this little study:

TOTALLY justifies my banana eating obsession. 

Dinner was definitely interesting because I’m trying to feel out brussel sprouts this week… I don’t even know if I’ve ever tried them before today. They’re one of those foods that has a “ew gross” reputation. Gotta keep trying new foods- especially fruits and veggies! I’ve been surprised at how much I like some veggies that I used to think were just plain awful.

I made the brussel sprouts according to the directions on the package. I decided to go the easy route and buy pre-seasoned, pre-prepared sprouts. They were weirdly cheap at the grocery store this week when I was perusing different veggies.

I still had some ground beef left over from when I made the no-noodle lasagna on Saturday night so I used it up to make Will and I some burgers. In the mixture was red onion, chopped garlic, worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper, and an egg white.

I was so nervous while the brussel sprouts were cooking because I had no idea what to expect!

I’m happy to report that they were good! They didn’t seem to have a wicked strong flavor or anything. I liked that they were big and crunchy- they really filled me up!

I’m intrigued by you, brussel sprouts. Very intrigued indeed. I’m excited to experiment with them further in the future with other veggies and spice blends.

I think I’m already feeling cabin fever- I feel so lazy being in my apartment building all day! The tragedy of being used to running around all over the city I suppose. I better get used to it because we have no work again tomorrow!

Keep staying safe everyone! We’ll survive this storm xoxo

One thought on “Hello Hurricane

  1. Pingback: One Hundred | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

