Plank Challenge

This will be a short post but I wanted to share a new fitness challenge I’m working on 🙂

At yoga last night I was reminded how important the core of your body is. It’s essential for solid and fluid movements (and an all around fit body). Read this article if you’re not convinced. Or do some google searching/internet perusing.

I know I work my core hard at yoga and even at bootcamp or when I hold planks on my own- but I tend not to push myself at increasing my plank endurance. I go for a minute, rest, go for another minute- never really increasing my time. I’ve gotten comfortable- and I should know once your body starts to get used to an exercise, results/progress tend to dwindle or stop showing.

Inspired by Tina of Carrots N Cake and the blog Purely Twins who do a lot of plank work and plank exercise routine videos (check it out!), I’ve decided to up my planking game!

Last night I begun this challenge and held my plank for 1 min. 30 sec. 

My goal is to double my time and be able to hold a 3 min. plank by November 16th.

Here’s what I’ll be doing to round out this challenge as per guidelines of Carrots N Cake (because it’s fun to do a challenge when you know other people are doing it too!)

  • Monday: Time trial
  • Wednesday: Plank/core workout
  • Friday: Time trial – try to beat Monday’s plank time!

Every Monday and Friday I will do a time trial and see how I’m progressing with my planks. Every Wednesday Tina posts a less than ten minute plank workout so I will be doing that in addition to my usual Wednesday yoga class. Here is her workout from yesterday.

Doing this challenge will only take a 1/2 hour of your life a week… c’mon- you know you want to join me 😉

Let’s get stronger! xoxo

11 thoughts on “Plank Challenge

  1. Pingback: Hello Hurricane | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Halloween: Past and Present | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: Only Getting Better in November | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: Orange You Glad | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: Wed-nes-day | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Bad, but Mostly Good | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: How I Spend a Day Off | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  8. Pingback: Namaste, Penn Quarter | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  9. Pingback: Be Kind to Yourself | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

