Diary of an Autumn Lover

Hopefully you all understand how much I love this time of year by now. And hopefully you all enjoy it too otherwise this blog is probably going to make you pretty unhappy as we move forward.

Fall appreciation shows no signs of stopping! If anything it’s taking over more and growing (yes, it’s possible).

I kicked off the weekend Friday late afternoon by seeing the movie Frankenweenie with my friends Nick and Jess. Yes, that would be the Tim Burton/Disney movie that’s out right now. It was really good- I was impressed. And of course it was a tad on the creepy side (it is Tim Burton after all).

Dinner that night was one of the best things I’ve made in a while. I got the recipe suggestion from Tina of Carrots N Cake and the original recipe is from Amazing Paleo Recipes.

I present to you: Skillet Sweet Potato, Sausage, and Spinach Hash

For the most part I followed the original recipe- I used two medium sized sweet potatoes and a honey crisp apple.

LOVE SWEET POTATO.

I don’t own coconut oil so I left that out. I just used a little olive oil.

I was planning on going for a run Saturday morning but my lower back is doing weird things and I knew that it would be an awful idea to try and run with it outta whack. It was frustrating but I tried to not let it ruin my day.

Breakfast helped turn things around

Two whole grain waffles topped with a fun fall mixture I whipped up…

About 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (leftover in the fridge), 1 tbl. sunbutter, 1 tsp. of sweet potato butter, and half a banana all mixed together and heated in the microwave for about 30 sec.

The topping almost didn’t make it to the waffles. It was heavenly.

And then Will and I decided to head up to Butler’s Orchard in Maryland for a day of Fall activities.

Pumpkins!

Meet my pumpkin! I can’t wait to carve this bad boy.

You had to take a hay ride to the pick your own pumpkin area.

I love hayrides.

We also walked through a corn maze… got lost many times- but we made it out alive. Thank God too because the maze was followed by:

Apple cider donuts! SO TASTY. Definitely an awesome treat.

The Orchard did a great job at validating my love of apples. Not that I needed any of that.

An apple a day keeps… Allison wicked healthy and a happy girl xoxo

Leave a Reply

