Choco-Raisin Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Another sunny Friday morning on the balcony.

I love the little clover growing in my mums pot 🙂

Today my breakfast looks a little different than usual… what’s that baked good you see there?

Before I fill you in on the baked treatlet me give you a workout (the one I did yesterday after a lil run!). I really enjoy “countdown workouts.”

Okay. Now back to the treat!

It’s just a baked oatmeal muffin with banana, chocolate chips, and raisins. No big deal.

Just kidding- it is a big deal because it’s delicious. I took my inspiration from the blog I told you about earlier this week Emily Bites. She calls them Banana Chocolate Chip Baked Oatmeal Singles. I’m just going to call them Choco-Raisin Banana Oatmeal Muffins.

But I used 1/3 cup chocolate chips and a 1/3 cup raisins. I also added a tsp. cinnamon. According to my calculations, only about 130 calories per muffin– score!

I am game for anything with bananas and chocolate.

I was hoping the chocolate would still stand out as you’ll notice I lowered her 3/4 cups of chocolate chips to 1/3 cup, but there was still plenty of chocolate in these with my changes. In fact, more would be slightly overwhelming in my opinion.

I made them to surprise Will earlier in the week because he’s been having some looooong days at work. I’m nice sometimes 😉 But the recipe makes 18 muffins SO obviously they’re for me too. You can totally freeze them and then heat them up in the microwave for about a minute whenever you want one! Convenient breakfast, snack, or dessert. 

I brought some into work for a couple of coworkers. I really don’t like too many baked goods lurking in my apartment. Plus, I love making food for people. It’s terrifying and I worry they’re lying to me when they tell me something I made is good… but it’s fine haha.

For a more balanced/real breakfast, I ate my muffin with a 1 egg, 1 egg white, spaghetti squash (yay leftovers!), and tomato scramble. Switchin’ things up for breakfast today!

I was going to add avocado but totally forgot- womp. But I highly recommend that.

For the scramble I basically just sauteed a cup of spaghetti squash, some chopped onion, and tomatoes in a skillet (sprinkled with garlic powder and a little basil). After about 3 minutes I put my whisked eggs in and stirred till they were scramble-y.

Starting the four day weekend off right with some of my favorite foods: bananas, chocolate, and eggs. I can’t complain.

Especially when this weekend promises fun workouts, the Virgin Mobile FreeFest, bike riding, following red sox drama, October baseball, football, the Taste of DC, and plenty of relaxation.

Did I mention I’m off till Tuesday- sweet sweet sigh of relief.

TGIF- Carpe Diem, everyone! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Choco-Raisin Banana Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Pingback: Day in the Life: Wednesday Edition | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Workout Wrap Up | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

