Zucchini Noodles & the End of September

Let me tell you about one of the greatest kitchen creations invented that was delivered to me on Friday. 

Say hello to my julienne peeler. Worth every penny of the ten dollars I spent on it. Here’s the link to the one I bought on amazon. To think, I had been cutting zucchini and eggplant in thin, linguine shaped slices with a pairing knife for months. I’m an idiot apparently… this is a better, more delicious, and easier way.

This device was recommended to me by the author of Well Fed, Melissa Joulwan, and her recipe for zucchini “comfort noodles.” I say again, this woman is a genius.

I used her recipe as a base and then made it my own based on what I had in my kitchen. Want to learn how to make your own bowl of zucchini noodle yumminess?

Here’s what I did:

  • Used julienne peeler on two large zucchinis

  • With the zucchini noodles in a colander, I sprinkled some salt over them and let them sit for 25 minutes in the sink (it drains excess water out of them). After the 25 minutes, you rinse them off and pat them dry with a paper towel. It keeps the noodles al dente and not mushy. Don’t skip this step.

  • I cracked open one of these babies to accompany my cooking journey.

  • While the noodles were salting, I steamed some broccoli. I don’t have a pan with a lid so whenever I steam something it involves my pan covered with a baking sheet 😉

  • I emptied the pan of the broccoli once it was done steaming and put it aside
  • I then added the zucchini noodles to the pan on low-medium heat and cooked for 2 minutes, stirring every once and a while.

  • After two minutes I pushed the noodles to the side of the pan. Then I added 1 tbl. of olive oil, chopped red pepper, grape tomatoes, and chopped garlic. I stirred this around for 2-3 minutes.

  • I also added some of this lovely spice blend that I have…

  • Next, I stirred the noodles and other combination together in the pan and sauteed for about one more minute
  • During that last step- I reheated the broccoli and some already cooked shrimp in the microwave.
  • Finally, I divided what I had made in the saute pan into two bowls each containing a serving a shrimp and broccoli (I LOVE SHRIMP)

Voila- Friday night dinner for Will and I 🙂

With the julienne peeler and the salting process- the zucchini is SO noodle like it’s scary. Not like Halloween scary, but very impressive.

Speaking of Halloween… it’s almost October. September is like, over?! Eh, September has been a middle month anyway between summer, me, and full out autumn.

As we all welcome autumn back into our lives, check out this paper punch I got for some crafting plans I have. Such a pretty lil maple leaf! I can’t wait to show you what I create 😉 But you’ll have to wait for Thanksgiving for that.

Martha Stewart makes cool things. Even if she’s a criminal.

Before I end this post, I thought I should look back at my goals for the month of September:

  • Eliminating scale use- the scale is still put away. admittedly, I used it a couple times in September. BUT it’s not in plain site and I don’t let it even come close to ruling my days. So freeing. Scales are stupid. My clothes fit the same and I’m happy.
  • Minimizing calorie countingI no longer use my calorie counting app (my friend Nick even convinced me to DELETE IT) and I count less in my head. I more so trust my sense of eating whole foods that are nutrient dense than worrying about the intricacies of calories. I jot things down and keep a slight food diary in my moleskine. I’m aware but not overly aware. Does that make sense?
  • Eat more- The health benefits of eating enough and eating to nurish your body are just ridiculously great. I am so much happier.
  • Exercise appointments- well my sickness threw me off… but overall, putting when and how I’m exercising (yoga, running, strength, etc) into my calendar makes me more organized and keeps my mind at ease.
  • Patience and love– these are things that are growing everyday (I’d like to think). Some days are better than others and some days are not so good, but overall, these are both improving. As I become happier and more comfortable in my own skin, these things are developing more and more.

And I’d like to finish this post with “2012 Bucket List” updates:

  • I got fitted for sneakers! My phone died by the time I got to Fleet Feet in Adams Morgan with my friend Nick- but I have new sneakers! My ankles and arches are a lot happier.

  • Try a new form of exercise every month I’m still standing by my decision to count the bootcamp class I took Thursday as my September new exercise. Let’s see what October brings… Zumba? Spin? Who knows.
  • I went to the doctor! And I’m a healthy human being 🙂 I couldn’t be happier. And I actually have another appt. to talk more about psychological/anxiety things that I’m looking forward to.
  • New vegetables, fruits, and recipes: See baked banana oatmeal, figs, apple cheddar bacon frittata,  broccoli a la allison, and cauliflower.
  • I went to two new food places nearby (Mellow Mushroom) and the new Pleasant Pops store!
  • I made some more realistic fitness goals for the future which include just having more fun with working out and taking away the stress factor. I need to cut back on my chronic cardio- no more cardio queen status. Yes I have the 5k coming up, but running almost every day was ridiculous. I need to embrace cross training more. SO each week I’d like to have 1 day of yoga, 1 day of a bootcamp type workout, and 2 days of running plus strength sets (30 min. cardio, 30 min. strength). Anything on top of that will be something like Zumba, a new exercise class I’m invited to, or just something I feel like doing. My goal is to hold myself to this plan. I will develop goals within each type of workout at some point, like: being able to do a certain yoga pose, getting better at bootcamp sets I’m asked to do, increasing my speed and endurance with running, and moving up in my weights.

My weekly workouts will look more like this…

This is the actual plan for next week that I have in my google calendar (where I keep my whole life basically).

Okay. Well I’m off to New Jersey for the rest of the weekend! My amazing friend Kate who is doing City Year in Baton Rouge is home in Jersey so me, Nick, and his dog Katie are driving to see her and meet up with other friends! YAY SO EXCITED.

Have amazing weekends everyone! Live it up xoxo

13 thoughts on “Zucchini Noodles & the End of September

  1. Pingback: New Week, New Month | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Truckin’ Through October | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: How I Spend a Day Off | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: One Hundred | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: Whole30 Week 2 Prep + Cooking | sneaker∙therapy

  6. Pingback: Whole30 Week 2: Eats and Some Mistakes | sneaker∙therapy

  7. Omg! I’ve been looking for an alternative to pasta (even though I love it). Made this tonight & will again. Delicious! Thank u!

  8. Pingback: How to make zucchini noodles - All Foods Drinks

Leave a Reply

